Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
MPC/Gateway Complaint - Lawsuit - Warranty Issues
MPC/Gateway Complaint

MPC/Gateway Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

Lawsuit - Warranty Issues


I have had several phones calls to MPC and Gateway trying to get my computer fixed. Gateway is telling me that this problem belongs to MPC and MPC won't even take our call. I have a perfectly good computer that I purchased an extended warranty with and now Gateway won't stand by the warranty. First of all, to anyone that is considering a computer DO NOT buy from Gateway. They are a horrible company with terribly rude customer service personal who will not try to help you. Second, if you a person going through this same situation write back and tell me about your situation. I was considering starting a class action lawsuit and I wanted to see how many others are being hurt by the same MPC/Gateway situation.


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to MPC/Gateway
SUBMIT a ticket
for MPC/Gateway
WATCH videos
for MPC/Gateway
More MPC/Gateway Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for MPC/Gateway

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


mddrains says: (8 years ago)
 0
I purchased a top-of-the-line laptop from Gateway with the extended warranty. I cannot get Gateway to help me and, as I understand it, MPC is no longer in business. I also understand that Gateway knew MPC was not stable when they sold the warranties to MPC. I have had to pay for fixes to my laptop that should have been covered under my warranty. I have written to Gateway and to the SD Attorney General to no avail. I am interested in joining a class action suit. NEVER buy Gateway. The tech at Office Max told me Acer is connected with Gateway - be aware.



shagger1 says: (8 years ago)
 0
I purchased a Gateway 18 mos ago and the backlight is out. Its warranty was sold to MPC and now MPC is not responding. I will participate in any action necessary.



Denmex says: (8 years ago)
 0
My father-in-law purchased for me a Gateway Notebook from Big Lots on July 27th, 2009 in Dallas, Texas. On the 3rd of January, 2010, the computer monitor went white while I was working on it. I couldn't turn it off and after the battery was depleted the computer would no longer power up. I'm currently in Durango, Durango, Mexico, and had to ship the computer to Acer Repair Center in Temple, Texas. A few days later I received and email that said my computer problems were the results of having a liquid spilled on it and I would have to pay $199.00 because the warranty was void due to the spill. When I spoke with them they informed me that I had two days to get the $199.00 to them are they would return my computer without repairing it. In addition to the $199.00 I must pay shipping from and to Durango, Durango, Mexico.
It is absolutely untrue that a liquid was spilled on the computer.
Furthermore, I had already called Gateway on two occasions about the computer running so hot. Once after I turned the computer off I left it setting on my sofa for a couple of hours. When I picked it up later the sofa was damp where I had placed it. I spoke with Gateway Service; it was with a representative that sounded like an accent from India, on two occasions. The first time that I spoke with them they said that it was normal for my model of notebook to run hot. The second time I spoke with the rep. I told him about the dampness on the sofa, I assumed it was condensation, he said that if the computer powered up and operated correctly there wasn’t a problem and I shouldn’t worry. My question to him was that if the computer should malfunction would my warranty be good. He assured me there wouldn’t be any problem as long as the malfunction happened within the specified warranty time which was one year.
Now they void my warranty because the computer appears to have had a liquid spilled on it. I have no intention of rolling over and playing dead on this situation. I have already filed a complaint with the consumer products division of the Texas Attorney Generals office. I’m in the process of filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in Temple, Texas.
Gateway won’t allow me direct access to the technician that spoke like God and said it was my fault the computer stopped working.
This is a long comment. I just want any potential customer of Gateway to know the hassle that they can possibly face if they should purchase a Gateway computer.



luvlyblonde28 says: (8 years ago)
 0
I would like to sign up as I have bought a laptop from gateway this year, only had it for two months before it stopped working. I caled Gateway who wouldn't even put me through to a representative because my numbers didn't match a "Gateway" product. Turns out even though my lapop was made in June of 09, suposedly MPC owns i and they went out of business BEFORE my laptop was even made so I am stuck with a laptop that I can't even buy a freaking charger for after paying over $800 for a laptop and it isn't working at all! Gateway deserves to pay me back for my lost money!



malori33 says: (8 years ago)
 0
We are having the same issue - what should we do next?



tashikiguru says: (9 years ago)
 0
I have an m680e. I bought the warranty from gateway so they should be liable.



tashikiguru says: (9 years ago)
 0
I also am in the same situation. my warranty ran out in march but I have been trying for a year to get support



surtr says: (9 years ago)
 0
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/2009/10/gateway_class_action.html



surtr says: (9 years ago)
 0
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/2009/10/gateway_class_action.html



luvlyblonde28 says: (9 years ago)
 0
I bought my Gateway Laptop through HSN, haven't even paid the thing off yet and have only had it two months and now it won't power on at all...been told it is the motherboard! I am trying to get service, haven't been successful and my 90 day warranty isn't even up much less the one year! I am so pissed off! Can anyone help me?



Maggie39 says: (9 years ago)
 0
Same Story. One memory modules went bad in November before my warranty expired in January. I'm still seething AND after 11 months of 1/2 memory am starting to looke for a new computer. I REALLY liked this one before MCP.



robwhitepa says: (9 years ago)
 0
I too was duped by MPC. I have a broken screen, bad mother board, and pen. I wrestled with MPC for 6 months prior to bankruptcy, and I was told 3 times that my parts had been shipped, then one day I called and they said they were filing bankruptcy, and they were like - sorry bout your luck! I am totally in for a class action lawsuit, put me down: robwhitepa@gmail.com

Rob



ISAMEDINA says: (9 years ago)
 0
I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY MX8711 DOES NOT TURN ON NO POWER AT ALL.GATEWAY THIS ARE LEMONS, NO GOOD.



Litig8r says: (9 years ago)
 0
I'm having the same problem as all of you. I'm tired of getting the run around. Fortunately I'm an attorney. I'm filing a small claims action against them. Our contracts were with Gateway, while they can assign their rights and duties, they can't escape privity of contract without our consent. Also, thousands of small claims suits will cost them more than one class action. The only person that wins in a class action is the attorney that files it. Take action for yourselves. Go to your local county court and ask the clerk of court for the papers needed to file a small claims action. There will be a filing fee, but if you win, there is an attorney fee provision in the warranty. (There is in mine anyhow.)

GOOD LUCK to all of you!



MPCisgarbage says: (9 years ago)
 0
I am in the same boat my friends. $3600 for a computer that never worked right in the first place. how can we sue these bastards? i have been researching class action lawsuits a bit and you are deffinatly not allowed to have a shell corporation to dump liabilities into. can anyone say Enron?



unhappywithMPC says: (9 years ago)
 0
Here was the liquidation auction info for March, estimated at over $50 million:
http://www.greatamerican.com/GAGAuction/Auctions/AuctionDetails.aspx?Id=360



unhappywithMPC says: (9 years ago)
 0
Might be able to submit a claim against MPC's Chapter 11 bankruptcy. Deadline is May 29, 2009.
Logan and Company, Inc.
Attn: MPC Claims Department
546 Valley Road
Upper Monclair, New Jersey 07043
-We received the forms that need to be completed in order to make out claim. We would also like to get money back for extended warranties, shell replacement, accidental coverage that are now not backed and we paid for them!
Anyone have an idea of what MPC charged for these items? All of our quotes just show a total price, no break down.



kerm21 says: (9 years ago)
 0
I had a contract through MPC/Gateway for support and maintenance for several computer systems and I cannot get replacement parts. Some systems are supposedly warrantied thru 2012



surtr says: (9 years ago)
 0
I'm in the same boat. I'm going to call my credit card company and dispute the portion of the purchase price that I paid for the extended warranty. Will let you all know how it goes.



hardwire says: (9 years ago)
 0
I also purchased a laptop with three year warranty in August 2007. from what I read, gateway sold the warranty end of things a very short time later... I called today... and was directed to a non working number for MPC and the site no longer exists... I called gateway back.. contacted support in chat... and was given the most rudely flat responses and absolutely no help.. they even declined to allow me to speak with anyone higher.



conorgil says: (9 years ago)
 0
My computer just had a CPU Fan Error and I tried to call gateway for support. A recording told me to call MPC and the provided number was NOT EVEN CONNECTED. I had to go search online where I found out about MPC going bankrupt. I purchased my laptop in 2006 with a 4 year waranty that is good until 8/23/2010. I want this problem fixed and I cannot even get any info about the state of my warranty. This is outrageous!



biznesswoman says: (9 years ago)
 0
The same is happening to me. I'm so frustrated. I purchased the extra on-site service and now I can't get my computer fixed. The warranty runs out May 15... no one will answer emails or take calls.



Chris12 says: (9 years ago)
 0
If the school districts that have been screwed by MPC/Gateway contact a consumer reporter and also let them know about everyone on this site then something could be done. When something effects children the news will jump on it.



GETaMAC says: (9 years ago)
 0
Same problem here. Gateway computer. Four year extended warranty. MPC as warranty holder. MPC bankrupt. Gateway washing their hands of it. Has ANYONE had any resolution to this issue? My warranty is only good for another month.



ccarring says: (9 years ago)
 0
I would definitely join a class action suit.




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More MPC/Gateway reviews


Similar reviews


More

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team